Bates wins Women's Collegiate Eights at Head of the Charles for record third straight year

The women's first varsity eight took home first place in the Women's Collegiate Eights at the Head of the Charles Regatta for a record third straight year and for the fourth time in program history. (Haley Eovine/Bates College)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- Guided by senior captain coxswain Maya Seshan, the Bates women's first varsity eight made history by claiming first place out of 27 boats in the Women's Collegiate Eights at the 55th Head of the Charles Regatta on Sunday.

The three-time defending NCAA champion Bobcats become the first program to take first place at the Head of the Charles in the Collegiate Eights race three consecutive years. It's the fourth time in program history Bates has won the Collegiate Eights race, tying the Bobcat women with Williams College for the most wins since the race was first established in 2002. Bates set a course record in the Women's Collegiate Eights in 2017 before winning last year for the second straight time. Bates also won the event in 2014.

Seshan (Wilton, Conn.) and her crew navigated the serpentine 4,800-meter course on the Charles River in 16:26.595, outpacing runner-up Wellesley by more than 20 seconds. The Blue raced to the finish in 16:47.200 and WPI finished third with a time of 16:53.028.

The Bobcats impressed with their second varsity eight boat as well. Led by first-year coxswain Isabella Sobolewski (Washington, D.C.), the Bates second varsity eight finished in 16th place. Sobolewski's crew navigated the course in 17:32.111, just a couple seconds behind RIT's first varsity eight boat. Bates' second varsity eight was the top finisher among all 2V boats entered in the race, edging the Tufts 2V, which finished in 17:34.712.

Bates also entered a boat in the Women's Collegiate Fours. Led by junior coxswain Kathryn Brown (Westford, Mass.) the Bobcats raced to the finish in 18:58.402, good for 11th place out of 36 boats. The 11th place finish is the Bobcats' best in the Collegiate Fours in program history, surpassing last year's 13th place showing. The Bates women's varsity four took third in the Club Fours at the Head of the Charles in 1994. The Florida Institute of Technology won this year's race in 17:50.817.

Led by senior coxswain Holland Doyle (Milton, Mass.) the men's first varsity eight finished 17th out of 38 boats in the Men's Collegiate Eights race on Sunday, an improvement over last year's 22nd place finish. The Bates men clocked in with a time of 15:07.701. MIT won the race in 14:25.901.

The Bobcats also entered a boat in the Men's Collegiate Fours and junior coxswain Aidan Temperino (Plymouth, N.H.) led the Bobcats to a strong 14th place showing out of 40 boats in a time of 17:00.196. UCLA won the race in 16:19.035.  

Bates WV8 lineup: Bow: Saylor Strugar; 2: Emma Wheeler; 3: Lillian Kinder; 4: Grace Bake; 5: Hannah Beams; 6: Hannah Fitts; 7: Grace Smith; Stroke: Catharine Berry-Toon; c: Maya Seshan

Bates W2V8 lineup: Bow: Casey Winter; 2: Martha Bishop; 3: Sydney Paul; 4: Elizabeth Johnson; 5: Emma Vieten; 6: Sophia Marota; 7: Carla Guichard; Stroke: Grace Murnaghan; c: Isabella Sobolewski

Bates WV4 lineup: Bow: Olympia Fisher; 2: Margaret Horvat; 3: Nina Carter; 4: Maeve Mikulski; c: Kathryn Brown

Bates MV8 lineup: Bow: Robert Sobolewski; 2: William Langhoff; 3: Maxwell Cavallaro; 4: Timothy Bates; 5: Kevin Downing; 6: Steven Sparks; 7: Maxwell Milavetz; Stroke: Espen Wheeler; c: Holland Doyle

Bates MV4 lineup: Bow: Jackson Chung; 2: Nicholas Van Ingen; 3: Christopher Novak; 4: William Bolin; c: Aidan Temperino